//
you're reading...
Archived

Matt Barbero Autobiography of digital media

Image representing The Walt Disney Company as ...

Image via CrunchBase

I will have to start out by admitting that I’m not the biggest fan of technology. My friends and family always joke around by saying that I belong in a different generation. New technologies often stress me out because I am a man of simple taste. Although I am somewhat old fashioned in regards to digital media, I am still able to adjust when need be. I’ve had to adapt to various forms of media over the years but I will stick to my relationship with movies for this particular autobiography.

Ever since I was a kid I have been in love with movies. One of my earliest memories as a child is watching Disney films. I prided my self on having the most extensive Disney collection out of all my friends. I could honestly make the argument that I owned every Disney movie that was made. I would watch these videos over and over again, and remember having to rewind the videos whenever I was done. It was not until I got older that I found out that some of the films I was watching had some sexual implications to them sexual implications

When I was about 10 years old my parents bought be a DVD player. Most kids found these to be really cool, but I accepted the gift very begrudgingly. I was very upset to have to start up a new collection since all of my videos were now essentially useless. Besides having to start a new collection I also hated how fragile and cheap the DVDS were. I found my self constantly breaking them which was frustrating because this never happened with my VHS collection. And I would attempt to clean the DVDs with a dvd cleaner but they were always broken past the point of no return.

When I was about 12 years old I was introduced to the Laserdiscs at my uncles house. I found these pretty cool but they never really caught out in my opinion. It seemed like a good idea but they got real old real quick. There were many complaints about the laserdiscs being ineffective.   

Like CDs, DVDs, and the Blu-ray discs of today, a single scratch could make the (very expensive) LaserDisc unplayable. LaserDiscs also burned out after some time, requiring consumers to buy the disc again. Sales suffered because, unlike VHS, LaserDiscs could only play, and not record, data. Time was also against the LaserDisc; it stored about one hour of video per side, which was nothing compared to the six or more of VHS or Betamax. 

Although I was reluctant to start using DVDs I must admit I’ve grown quite attached to them over the years. I used to go to blockbuster every weekend with my family until they eventually closed. There is also and FYE that just closed near my house as well. Now instead of buying DVDs I just watch movies on the computer, or I order them on the TV. I also feel nostalgic pain when I think of my old VHS or DVD collection, but as I said I have learned to adapt to the times.

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

